Manic Spring

IMG_20130420_185957_693

I saw the series of pictures from tonight’s dinner and I thought I looked happy. But, very tired. I haven’t been sleeping. I might as well admit it to the world. The remission has ended. I am manic. Is it the springtime, the bonk on my head, the stress of our world, the loss of a friendship? Who knows? I’m manic. That is all that I know. I cannot sleep and I cannot think the way I usually do. I am frightened of the way my mind is not working and then again, relieved that at times it works well.

I have enjoyed bursts of creativity. Driven to write. But I really need sleep. And soon. I do not want to end up in the hospital. I hate the hospital. I would rather eat glass. Now there is a statement totally without thought or merit. I forgot to take one of my meds three days in a row. I never do that. It is totally irresponsible and not like me at all. Doing so made me much worse. At first I blamed the mania on the error, but which came first. The grievous oversight, or the mania, the lack of judgment, the carelessness which caused it?

Probably the mania. And now it is worse. I am back on the medication and pulling out of the tailspin. But damage has been done. Not just to me. I lost a friend. I wrote something careless in a blog. Ranting about something I disagreed with that happened to be near and dear to a best friend’s way of thinking. She is lost to me now. Carelessness, bravado, cruelty, lack of judgment, loss of a friend. There are such thin lines between these words, between these experiences. Lack of judgment is the curse of mania. It is the pivotal force of destruction that it brings. Overspending, overstating, over-thinking, overtalking, overdoing everything. OVERBOARD!

That is mania. Doing everything too too much. I hate it. Depression turns the destructive force inward, mania turns the destructive force loose on the world. Either way it’s a destructive disorder. That is why I hate having it so much. I don’t want to be involved in anything that hurts me or others and yet I am. I am. Powerfully involved in something that hurts. Powerfully involved in something that can hurt.

Bipolar disorder is not for sissies. It’s a Facebook Page my fellow sufferer, LeeAnn found. I love the name. It’s not for the faint of heart that is for sure. Not if you are wanting to live above the madness. I haven’t been lately. I have been trudging right through the slop. With one hand stretched heavenward, asking for help. Reaching for my creator to pull me out of the quicksand. Not my head though. My head is bowed as if I am walking into a windstorm. I am braced against the slop. Braced against it from enveloping me.

Dear Lord, MY LORD, lift me up, “out of the miry clay. Set my feet upon a rock and establish my goings. Put a new song in my heart, even praise unto my God….many shall see it and fear…and shall trust in the Lord.” There my mind shifted gears into the singing of one of my favorite Psalms. Thanks God. For your word in my heart.

I know I will trudge through this. I know I will be Above the Madness again one day soon. Until then, please think of me and pray for me dear friends. For I love you all. Thanks, Lib

@copyright Libby Baker Sweiger Living Above The Madness

10 thoughts on “Manic Spring

  1. Hi Libby, I lived like that for 14 yrs before I was diagnosed with bipolar, are you on a mood stabiliser to stabilise your mania?? I feel for you XX

    • Yes I am Darleen, I just got so out of whack by missing the dosage on one of my main meds I think! I’m better now, but exhausted. Thanks for commenting and for reading and supporting me. Love to you!

      • So very true. I take so many precautions not to miss and then I blew it. I felt so stupid frankly. But you can’t be hard on yourself, it doesn’t help anything, just learn from it and go on. Fragile that is a very good word!

  2. “That is mania. Doing everything too too much. I hate it. Depression turns the destructive force inward, mania turns the destructive force loose on the world. Either way it’s a destructive disorder. That is why I hate having it so much. I don’t want to be involved in anything that hurts me or others and yet I am. I am. Powerfully involved in something that hurts. Powerfully involved in something that can hurt.” – these words spoke so true to me. My mania is all angry, irritable energy…which I always saw as so different from those who had a “euphoric” mania…but reading this made me realize that regardless of their differences or what we call them…a manic state hurts others…and makes us feel so utterly bad about ourselves and hopeless that change will come. But I too, have faith that it will…the journey is just so long.

    • I have every faith that it will too. The journey is very long you are so right. In the throws of bipolar disorder, whether it is depression or mania, the journey is held in time it seems and unbelievably long. Forever it seems. I am better today and I am thankful, but exhausted still. I hope the journey is shortened a bit. Blessings to you and thanks for commenting! It’s so good to talk about all this.

  3. I felt your pain and angst. I have been where you are before way too many times. My prayers go out to you. I find that meditation works wonders for me when I’m in a tailspin like that. I hope you find some peace soon. *Hugs*
    Che’

    • Hugs to you Che’. It was great meeting you on twitter. Thanks for the tip on meditation. I pray and pray during these long moments of mania. I’m so glad for the support. Feeling better. Waiting to be on top of it again!

Leave a Reply

