Living In Remission

LibsCrop-002“Listen to the mustn’ts, child. Listen to the don’ts. Listen to the shouldn’ts, the impossibles, the won’ts. Listen to the never haves, then listen close to me… Anything can happen, child. Anything can be.”quote by

Shel Silverstein,        Photography by Mary J. Triviski

The bipolar disorder I have lived with since I was 23 is in remission. Look at how clear my eyes are, how relaxed my smile. Perfect peace! As early as last summer, July, when I was in the hospital for Asthma, they wrote in my chart and discharge notes: bipolar: In Remission. I had never heard of anything like it before.

No one had very told me this could happen, but it does. See this article: from eHow Health: How Long Is the Remission Period in Bipolar? What they are talking about is what I am experiencing, an effective management of symptoms through medication and counseling “that options to manage the symptoms, thereby rendering the disease asymptomatic, according to the Psychiatric Times.”

This is so awesome! The proof is found in what I have been experiencing since last summer. None of the usual triggers, prolonged illness, i.e. asthma, treatments that usually bring on mania (prednisone for asthma, lack of sleep due to the medications, which I have had to take off and on since July for asthma and to stop prolonged migraines, have caused mania in me, and an ensuing depression. That which has always been my pattern, is no more!
I am still continuing all of my medicines. I am not taking my anxiety medicine, except right before bed, an aftermath of my other medication for bedtime sleeping which I have since gotten off of.
I know that many people who begin to feel better, will stop or taper back on their medications. This is not recommended. For you will be much better off staying right where you are, and letting your doctor instruct you, if there needs to be any changes.

Take care all! Know you are loved and cared for by me and by our Creator in whatever stage of mental disorder you are presently in. Or perhaps you suffer with something else. We all have challenges in life. Health, financial, relationships ~ they find us and give us struggles and concerns. Keep on, keeping on! Libby

8 thoughts on “Living In Remission

  1. First I love Shel’s writing, Second, I am so very Happy that you are in remission. I cannot think of anyone more deserving than you Libby and I know Steamboat must be floating on air right now. Your eyes & smile (and your bangs) are something to write home about anyway. Your doing better, Heather is doing better, it’s time to focus on sweet Mary, there is no limit to what God can do!

    • First, I love you Tommy! Second, I am so happy to hear from you on this blog. Your comment blesses me to my toes and your concern and love for Mike (Steamboat) and I means so much! I am well, Heather is healed from terrible body pain, time to pray for deliverance from seizures ~ and for healing for dear Mary. I agree, there is no limit to the Lord’s ability to heal and transform and bring us wonderful friends. Thank you for being one of mine!

  2. Lovely Libby! Shel Rocks, but more importaintly Our God Is so AWESOME!!!!! I understand much better what “Bipolar Remmision” is now, as you recall I had never heard of it eiither! But I thank God for it & You! LUMBJLUM! ❤ ❤ ❤

    • Mary, Beauty! You’re right Shel rocks! God is beyond Awesome. I’m glad you understand a bit more about this remission idea…it’s a good thing and amazing to study about, even better to experience! I thank God for you and the wonderful friendship the Lord has given us! 🙂 xxxx

  3. An excellent book by Shel Silverstein – “Where The Sidewalk Ends” so many of my favorites are in there! Also – Dr. Hook’s Greatest Hits contains lyrics that are penned by Shel.
    I love your blog Libby, you are always building up and never tearing down!

  4. Thanks Tommy! I’m sorry I missed it for so many days. I’m going to order “Where The Sidewalk Ends” from Amazon! It sounds great! I try to build people up and myself when I write, thanks for noticing! 🙂

Leave a Reply

