You Don’t HAVE To Get Old

Me

You can’t help getting older, but you don’t have to get old.
George Burns

I have been getting steadily older all my life. 🙂 But I have tried very hard not to grow old: mentally, physically, emotionally, especially in the way I think about things. I have done my best to embrace new concepts and new technologies. This is not to say I accept all new concepts, sometimes I decide the older ones are better, but I explore them and weigh them on their merits.

This type of thing keeps you young, I believe. As young as my brother who runs Triathalons in his 50’s. I will be 60 next June, so I should know.  I was discussing what I want to do for my birthday with my husband tonight. I really want to go out of town for a social media gathering — or throw myself a big party here in our party room. Finally, my husband was on board for my trip out of town! 🙂 He’s not big on throwing the types of BIG parties I like to. And we’re moving soon before my birthday! Same complex, bigger apartment, we hope.

So June 19-21 I’m going to the Jersey shore to spend my birthday with some friends I have made online: women, intelligent and caring. A few I have met in person. We will be lifetime friends before the long weekend at the beach talking social media is over!

About nine years ago I was told that bi-polar disorder worsens with age. I was adamant that would not happen to me. I refused to believe it. Now the doctors tell me that my case of bi-polar is in remission. Actually, what they are saying is that I am not exhibiting any symptoms. That is true. I take  my medication. I don’t use this as an excuse to go willy nilly off the meds stabilizing my mood! I am ecstatic that I am symptom free. I don’t take it for granted. I know I have to take care of myself. If I don’t get enough sleep, I grab a nap.

I know I am very fortunate. I also believe a positive attitude and good habits have taken me far. Close work with my team too. The big thing happening as a result of it all is that at 59 years old I am taking a full-time job in social media! I can hardly wait to start. I am very fortunate. The CEO of the new company knows of the disorder I have and is very supportive. I have worked with him in the past. The company is going to make a difference in the world and I am going to love the role I will play. I have had my own company and worked my own hours since 1999, so this is a big step.

What makes some people succeed and grow as they get older and others just get old? That is a very complex question. Keep living, loving and interacting. Keep learning, engaging and having fun and my own personal feeling that helps me — dye your hair :)!

Thanks for listening. Enjoy all the stages of your life. There is so much to be learned and enjoyed. Have fun!

@copyright Libby Baker Sweiger

 

6 thoughts on “You Don’t HAVE To Get Old

  1. Hugs and congrats Libby!!! First for you being symptom free, staying young and your trip to Jersey Shore! You are so right about staying young. You have the same out look as my Gma did. She lived to be 97. You Rock and see you in June!!!

    • Denise your enthusiasm charges my batteries even more! I look forward to seeing you in June. In fact I can hardly wait! Thanks for connecting my attitude to your Grandma’s (conventional thought is that people with bipolar have short life spans, usually due to suicide) 97 years here I come. We’ll kick that misnomer to the curb as well! 🙂

  2. Libby this is a wonderful
    story about how you are
    dealing with getting older.

    Thank you for sharing it
    has helped me out. I’m allot
    younger than you but it seems
    one thing gets fixed with me and
    some thing else goes. But I still try
    to keep my chin up.

    Hugs and God bless
    Bonnie

    • Oh, Bonnie thank you. No matter your age, health difficulties are always so hard. I have had 7 surgeries in the past 9 years! I get very sick of being laid up. I try, like you to stay positive, but prayer and crying out to God for His strength is often the order of the day!

      God bless you too and hugs to hold you in His love!
      Libby

Leave a Reply

