A Cry For Help

Psalm 142 Good News Translation

A Prayer for Help

Lord, I cry to you for help;
you, Lord, are my protector;
you are all I want in this life.
Listen to my cry for help,
for I am sunk in despair.
Save me from my enemies;
they are too strong for me.
Set me free from my distress;
then in the assembly of your people I will praise you
because of your goodness to me.

This has been my summer theme song. My enemies have been the illnesses that plagued me beginning with asthma I could not shake in July. I was hospitalized twice with two bouts of serious asthma with a cough in July, ending in swollen vocal cords in early August followed by 3 weeks of exhaustion after getting out of the hospital and getting off steroids.

I was thanking The Lord for his goodness because through it all I was not overcome by the depths of despair: Depression, nor the strength of my enemies: Mania. I stayed emotionally and mentally strong and healthy. It was a  miracle.

I had that confirmed when I saw my Psychiatrist on Tuesday, head of my care team. I was telling him all I’m been through and all the steroids I’d had to take for my breathing. Steroids which push you into mania quite efficiently. He said, “It’s a miracle!” I said “I know.” We sat in silence together and were thankful.

In and out of the assembly, I am telling His people of His care for me. The miracle I experienced and the blessing of good health. I am so thankful to be well and to have not added a trip to the psychiatric ward to come off a major manic high to the mix, which would easily have happened without the miracle!

@copyright Libby Baker Sweiger

Feeling better
8 thoughts on “A Cry For Help

  1. Libby your posts alway bring me to being thankful and blessed! You are becoming quite the page designer also, very tasteful ! (that’s coming from a guy that doesn’t like pink) In this case the color combination is perfect!

    • Thanks Tommy! I’m glad you end up being thankful and blessed, that is the point I am trying to get to so if my readers do too, blessings all around! You are a wonderful friend…glad you like the design! 🙂 Courtesy of WordPress! :))) I just had to have the good sense to pick it out! 🙂

  2. Libby, this brought tears to my eyes. You are such a great example to me! I appreciate your honesty! I need to be thankful in the times when I can’t see the light of day and to praise Him when the chips are down!!

    • Mimi! I love you! You are an inspiration to me! You have such life and passion for the Lord. We always think we are going to stop suffering, but this side of Heaven we are not promised that, but we are promised Victory not defeat! Triumph over troubles and a Victorious life in Jesus… That is ours!

  3. Lovely Libby! Another honest soul bearing blog! I know I believe we spent a lot of this time on the phone as you were so sick!!! I also am thankful for everyone that prayed for you such power in prayer & that in itself is another miricle!!! 2012 sure has been a year of miricles for both of us!!! Glory to Yah & Yah blessings & love for you! 🙂

    • Thanks Mary for your prayers and YES my getting well was the biggest miracle of all and you too. So glad to have you to pray with! 2012 and this summer in particular has been startling for the wonders The Lord God Jehovah has done!

Leave a Reply

