Doing The Very Best Thing

Quote on depression by Stephen Fry. Source: Goodreads.com:

“If you know someone who’s depressed, please resolve never to ask them why. Depression isn’t a straightforward response to a bad situation; depression just is, like the weather.

Try to understand the blackness, lethargy, hopelessness, and loneliness they’re going through. Be there for them when they come through the other side. It’s hard to be a friend to someone who’s depressed, but it is one of the kindest, noblest, and best things you will ever do.”
― Stephen Fry

Wow Mr. Fry said a mouthful there. I know it from my own experience and from that of my friends. I have a dear girlfriend who has been in a depression since her father died a year ago. Well, you might say, that has a cause. But she’s doing more than grieving, her whole world has a tear in it and she feels alone even in her family. We were together over the weekend and I was there for her. It was difficult. Not because I don’t feel for her, because I do tremendously! But because I have been struggling so much myself of late.

Stepping out of your own shoes, if even for an afternoon and helping someone else does take you out of your own pain, takes your mind off of your own issues, large or petty as they may seem and helps you gain perspective. It also helps to know that you are not alone. Not that you are happy in any way to see a friend suffer, but being able to turn from yourself and focus on them is good. It takes you out of yourself and turns your mind and heart to the love you have for them.

I returned home from seeing her concerned for her. And not a lot better than I’d been myself. But I was happy to have been there for her.

What is happening with me right now is going to take a while to resolve. I am having to go off of a medication that started to bother me due to side effects and I’m filled with anxiety and other symptoms of withdrawal: headaches and sleeplessness. There is really nothing for me to do but tough this out and play the waiting game as it totally gets out of my system.

My comfort is in the fact that I’ve been through it before and I know what is happening. My body feels out of control, but my mind is lucid. Anxiety is no fun, but I will survive it and I still think it beats the heck out of depression which I really hate. I’m exercising on my recumbent bike once or twice a day which is helping and taking my fresh carrot juice.

There may not be anything too scientific behind these remedies, but they increase my feeling of well-being, so I say they’re working!  I’m sure exercise is a documented remedy, it is for everything else. I’m going to do some research on it when I have some time. Right now I’m too busy exercising…lol!

As when I am depressed, I do need my friends. Last week was my birthday and I struggled forth to wonderful breakfasts, lunches and dinners with delightful people. Please call if you think of it. I love and need to hear from you. Or email! Thanks again. Hugs! Libby

livingabovethemadness@gmail.com

@copyright by Libby Baker Sweiger    Birthday Pictures:

Mom and I

Best girlfriends since Jr. High and High School — WOW!

#UsGuys Social Media Brothers! BFF’s for Life

2 thoughts on “Doing The Very Best Thing

  1. Libby I always get wiser, and comforted by reading your posts! I have a friend Beverly that I have known since the mid 60’s and I sent here a note to share this article with, and I hope she will see in you what I do. she could use a friend to talk to that doesn’t have a guy approach to life. I’m hoping for the best. She means a lot to me and so do you. What is a good time to call I’ve been neglectful lately, so if i don’t snap out of it, it only makes things worse. Who’s got the funk ?

  2. I’m glad Tom! That is a wonderful thing to say. I saw your comment to Beverly and I hope she contacts me. I would love to talk with her. Please call anytime. Around the noon hour CST is best, but I am always here for you and it’s good to take a break whenever I can! xx

Leave a Reply

