Bipolar Funk

I have been in a funk for a while now. I’m not sure what the medical term for this is. My team is calling it mood destabilization. One moment I am crying and the next I am well what can I say, angry. In a bad mood. I don’t like that. I’m used to mania, well acquainted with depression, but not often cranky. It’s an icky feeling. I was reading quotes by Mark Twain tonight to cheer me up. History is saying he was bipolar. I came across this one:

“I’ve lived through some terrible things in my life, some of which actually happened.”
― Mark Twain

Samuel Clemens, ‘Ol Mark kinda cracked me up laughing. It’s so true. We suffer so. So many imaginings. So many horrible feelings. So many terrible things going on in our minds. None of which actually happen. I guess it isn’t funny, but I laughed from the sheer ridiculous irony of it. Some of the bad things in my life have happened. Most of them just tormented my poor brain.

Here’s another one I like:

“Courage is resistance to fear, mastery of fear – not absence of fear.”
― Mark Twain

If he wasn’t bipolar he sure new a lot about fear and how to fight it. We all need that. And to realize that we will not be without it, but must learn to resist and overcome it. Not always by ourselves perhaps, but with God’s help, with prayer, ours and that of friends and family. Sometimes when I don’t know how to pray I just look heavenward and yell help! Seems to work for me.

Bipolar disorder is something to be fought with every fiber of your being. I don’t believe in being passive about it. Sure, you have to rest and recuperate when you’re tired. But your spirit must be vigilant and fighting the negativity and fog that threatens to overtake your mind. Fight it with calls to your doctor. Fight it with listening and medication adjustments faithfully carried out. Fight it by taking care of yourself. Lunch with friends when you think holing up in your place alone might be more appealing. Fight!

This is my favorite quote I found because it’s so life affirming from Twain again, who certainly battled a lot of depression later in life and probably had bipolar:

“Life is short, Break the Rules.
Forgive quickly, Kiss SLOWLY.
Love truly. Laugh uncontrollably
And never regret ANYTHING
That makes you smile.”
― Mark Twain

So keep fighting folks no matter what your struggle. And keep reaching out. This too shall pass, as they say.

@copyright by Libby Baker Sweiger

At Lunch with BFF Steve Caggiano

8 thoughts on “Bipolar Funk

  1. Great quotes! I think humor is a coping mechanism! It is for you, and for me. I never considered Twain a quote machine but you’ve changed my mind! Well done!

    • Thanks Lois! Yes you’re right…humor is a great coping mechanism and Twain has some great quotes. I love this one: “Always do what is right. It will gratify half of mankind and astound the other.”
      ― Mark Twain 🙂

  2. You are a radical friend–one who is always there– the severity of your Bi-Polar is a blessing compared to many!! You are a trooper thru it all!! We have to be with all illnesses-or the next day may not come for many–or at least ever seem like it!! Your days are bright-you are bright-I am blessed!

  3. Libby, I am so thankful for you, this post, as Eric Clapton would say, “Spot On” You always seem to write these beautiful lines right when they will nudge me to try harder. I love you my angelic sister.

  4. Wow, Libby, what a powerful post. So honest and clear cut. If you ever need a lunch buddy or just someone to chat with, I’m only a phone call away. Those quotes you shared put what you’re going thru into perspective. I think all of us should live by the last one.

    • Thanks Mimi! I always need someone to chat with so I will call you soon. Lunch buddies too! I love Mark Twain and glad the quotes were good for you too. I agree about the last quote it’s a beauty. 🙂

Leave a Reply

